• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Stock Dunlop Tread

Hollaway21

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey all,

I have the Dunlop Trailmax D609 tires, and have just hit around ~3300 miles. I have seen from other threads that people have already changed them by this amount of miles or are considering it.
I am new to riding and would like to know your opinion on the longevity of these tires.

Front wheel pictures:

front3.jpgFront1.jpgFront4.jpg

Rear wheel pictures:

Rear3.jpgRear1.jpgRear2.jpg

Also i am considering replacing them with a TKC 70 rear and a Shinko 705 front.

Thanks for your replies! :D

Yours look better than mine did when I changed them, you can probably get more out of them but watch them as the wear seems to speed up.

I changed mine at 10k miles. I could have gone a little further. Yours look good for another 3k miles.

Mine looked similar to that at around 3500 miles. Rode them to almost 5800 before changing a couple of weeks ago to PR4's. I do less than 30 miles round trip each commuting work day, and the dealership is < 5 miles from work so I just kept a close eye on the wear. Biggest issue for me was when I could feel the squaring off of the ridge that your picture shows. Once I could actually feel that on corners I started to lose confidence. Knew it was time to change at that point. If you can't have confidence in your tires then change them.

I agree with sumo, your tires only look about 50-60% used up to me.

Consider yourself lucky. Some of us got a bad batch of tires or something, because mine were almost gone by the number of miles you've got on yours.

My rear was down to the wear indicators at about 3,000, but I live on a gravel road and do enjoy backroads.
The front lasted about 5,000.