• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Replacing handlebars

ricksride

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I am going to replace my bent handlebars, (this weekend?).
I am also adding the Storm S5's guards.

Question:
Do I need to re-install the internal weights into the new bars or will the weight of the S5's be enough to take up the missing internal weights?

I would say that as you don't have the pain in the arse of taking any old weights out, I'd go with the hand guard weights.

Just my opinion though, I'm no expert!

I am going to replace my bent handlebars, (this weekend?).
I am also adding the Storm S5's guards.

Question:
Do I need to re-install the internal weights into the new bars or will the weight of the S5's be enough to take up the missing internal weights?

If it were me, as I am unfortunately super easily effected by handle bar vibes (darn it :() I would do my level best to retain the OEM internal weights.

Apologies, I do not have the S5's installed, so I can't comment on that part, but one of the things I really like about my NCX is how un-vibey the bars are. My BMW (F800ST) had the most ginormous bar end weights I've ever seen on a motorcycle, yet they didn't work for me in the slightest! No internal weight system on that bike.

So if you are prone to vibes, I wouldn't want to lose the OEM set up, if I didn't have to.

On my sw motech handguards, I have leave in place the OE weight to avoid any bad surprise ( possible additionnal vibration) You must just in this case drill a hole at the right place to maintain the OE system in the new handlebar