• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

My 700 Adventure idea - would it work?

Koolbikegirl

Reaction score
Visit site
hi all *waves
I'm new to bikes my (beautiful) 700 is my first bigger engine, I passed my test in October 2012.
On a sleepless night I was reading this blog
https://nomadsmoto.wordpress.com/the-route/

I got to thinking, I'd like to buy a new 700/750 in the US and ride right round the coastal area (with a few detours inland) but I'd like other 700/750 owners to meet me and ride with me for short (or long) parts of the journey, show me some local sights and maybe offer me a bed for the night. I'm a lone 50 something female, the point of my adventure (not that any ride needs a point, in fact the point of course is the ride!) would be to get to know other owners and their favourite rides and see the US from a different viewpoint.

would you - the community - comment please on
1. would anyone be up for meeting/helping me?
2. what advice would you offer?

i suppose my first dilemma is - how would I go about buying a new 700/750 when I don't live in the US and is it possible to register and insure a bike without a US address? shipping a UK registered bike is possible but not cheap which is why I thought buying one in the US might be the way to go?

I'm looking forward to your input. thanks in advance :)

3. can you think of any other challenges?

I'm not sure, but maybe renting a post box would be sufficient for insurance and registration purposes? I can't think of any reason it wouldn't work, in California at least.

I see a fair number of lightly used NC's for sale with luggage and accessories included. That's what I'd go for.

I'm not sure, but maybe renting a post box would be sufficient for insurance and registration purposes? I can't think of any reason it wouldn't work, in California at least.