• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

The Convenience Of Commuting On A Motorcycle

greenex

Reaction score
Visit site
Since I am new to riding motorcycles I gave myself a rule that if the weather was "bad" I would not ride. On those days I take a bus and train into DC (actually just outside of DC). It changes my commute from 35 minutes on the bike to 1 hour and 15 minutes using public transportation.

So yesterday morning it was raining and I'm thinking to myself, I don't want to ride the bus but I guess I have to. So I finish getting ready and damnit if I didn't miss the bus. Now I would have to wait at least another 30 minutes for the next bus in addition to the 1 hr 15 min.

I look around, its only lightly raining, so I figured the heck with it I have to learn to ride in the rain sooner or later. I suited up, got on my bike, and was at the office in 35 minutes and was only a little wet. I even pulled a suit and tie out of my backpack that didn't get too wrinkled. Had the same experience on the way home too.

The point of the story, for me at least, was that riding a motorcycle has saved me an incredible amount of time and money over the past 6 months. About an hour a day. And it costs the same to ride public transportation for one day as it does paying for gas for a week on the bike. Not to mention, I can now leave whenever I want rather than being bound to a bus/train schedule. And when the weather isn't that "bad" I can still benefit from the convenience of riding.

Riding a motorcycle has been one of the best decisions of my life. If my wife asks, its the 2nd best decision :)

Anyone else have a similar experience?