• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Question about Valve Clearance and other Maintenance

docb91b

Reaction score
Visit site
Howdy all,

Not sure if this has been hashed out before, but here we go...

I read in Cycle World that the Valve Clearance inspection at 8000 miles costs around 500 bucks!!!! Couple that with needing to buy new tires soon and a new chain... I am thinking about doing my own maintenance from now on.

Question...
How hard is it to check the valves? I hear you have to remove the radiator? How about other general servicing (like oil changes, replacing chains etc..)? I am a computer tech by trade and not afraid of tools. However, this is my first motorcycle and it is DCT.

I am thinking about doing all the servicing, except for tire changes (let them have that fun). Is a particular service manual suggested/recommended?

That article blew my mind.... they said 1 year report... 10,000 miles, 1000 dollars of maintenance!! I am new to motorcycles, but $1000 to 10,000 seems excessive!

As always, your help is appreciated.

D

No worries! Very easy job. Youtube search Valve Adjustment on Honda NC700X and you will find a great video. Most owners I believe have done their own on here. Get a Service Manual also to assist you on your way to doing all your own work. I have not spent anything in maintenance cost on my bike in a year except cost of oil, filter and tires. I change the tires myself too.
Good luck and lot's of helpful people on here to answer questions.
BTW - I teach Computer Tech so even we can do the work.

Thanks Big Thump. Which manual do you use?

When I said I was a tech, I thought everyone was going to reply... in that case, go to the dealer.. lol