• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Mounting tires?

Prozac

Reaction score
Visit site
Question: (taking advantage of the fact that I'm still a newbie on this forum...) is mounting tires something I should be able to do myself at home? I'm pretty skilled with other technical work on bikes, but I don't know what I don't know, I guess I'm just tired of paying $60 a pop at the dealer...

Question: (taking advantage of the fact that I'm still a newbie on this forum...) is mounting tires something I should be able to do myself at home? I'm pretty skilled with other technical work on bikes, but I don't know what I don't know, I guess I'm just tired of paying $60 a pop at the dealer...

Completely by hand with tire irons, or with something like a Harbour Freight/equivalent floor mounted tire changer?

I think if you haunted YouTube long enough and watched a bazillion DIY tire changing vids, one could get the hang of the basics pretty easy.

Possibly the tricky part would be the static/dynamic balancing if you were unequipped and/or unfamiliar with the tips and tricks of the trade.

I've changed dirtbike tires by hand uncountable times, but those tires were always pretty small and skinny, they seemed not unlike bicycle tires, and were super easy.

A fairly big, heavy, and much less stretchy hunk of 180mm section streetbike tire, c/w spot on high speed balancing? Ermm I dunno if I'd be super confident, myself. Plus I'd hate to tear or booger up a bead or sidewall if my hamfisted attempts went all awry. :eek

I'm thinking about giving it a go when my rear TKC80 gives up the ghost. I have it's new replacement sitting in my living room by the couch. :D