• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Is this small bit of play between the sprocket/hub & rim ok?

I'm no expert by any means, but I don't think that's normal. Pull the sprocket straight up from the position in the video and make sure all the rubber dampers are sitting correctly. With my bike, the small circle protrusions on the bottom of the dampers rubbed little marks on the inside of the rim well where they sit. That helped me line them up and make sure they're sitting correctly. If they are all correct and the sprocket is still doing that, I'm not sure what else could be causing it. Hopefully someone else here will have more knowledge.

It has a little play on my bike, probably supposed to because the rubber things inside the hub are meant to absorb some shock between the chain and the wheel. Maybe someone else will know.

How many miles have you got on your bike?

Not many people think about them, but those rubber dampers in the hub are wear items, and can require replacing from time to time. I have replaced several sets over the years on various bikes, some sooner than others, some not at all. It seems to depend on many factors for when their time is up.

If they are worn to the point where they introduce too much slop, they start to have the opposite effect of what they are meant to reduce; shock to the system, and can start to negatively impact bearings and drivetrain components.

There is a wear tolerance limit listed in the Workshop manual, but I can't recall what it is offhand, sorry.

That's good news!

And now, to highjack my own thread....I've been wearing the Thunder Under rain suit you recommended, for almost two
weeks now. Been using it as a wind barrier for my chilly commutes home at night. -But no rain to give it the definitive test. My prior set was doing the