• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

High cost at the dealer

bode61

Reaction score
Visit site
I am about due for a set of sprockets and chain for my 2012 DCT. I replaced them once already but it was at an independent shop in Colorado where I was on a Moto vacation a few years ago. Today I called my local Honda dealer and was quoted over $300 just for the sprockets and chain. That doesn't include labor. I can't find my invoice from the last time but this seems excessively high. Sticker shock just hit me. Might think about looking into aftermarket for sure now. I know many have used JT from Sprocket Center. Like or not?

I like it. Has been working great for me so far, only about 700 miles on them yet.

I am no mechanic, never even changed the oil in my car (nor bike, yet) and I was able to do the sprockets and chain. Had a buddy (who's done plenty of chains) come assist, but he just mainly watched while I did the work.

$112 (for the parts) and about 30 minutes (for me) to do the work.

I haven't tried the JT I got the D.I.D. Set but sprocket centers customer service was great. P.S. I would recommend getting one if those cheap
alignment tools. Their like fifteen bucks and well worth it

Last edited:
Today I called my local Honda dealer and was quoted over $300 just for the sprockets and chain. That doesn't include labor. I can't find my invoice from the last time but this seems excessively high.

That's crazy high. The OEM sprockets cost about $35 each from most online parts stores. I don't know about the OEM chain, because once I went DID I never went back. The DID costs $70 on Amazon, so you can get all the parts you need for around $150. And if they're gouging you on parts, you know you won't be getting any deals from them on labor. Go elsewhere or give it a try yourself.