• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Are Motorcycles Really More Practical and Economical?

Enforcer

Reaction score
Visit site
I have been riding motorcycles for the past 45 years and have often heard others rationalize and justify the purchase of a motorcycle because it would be more practical and economical than driving their car. This got me thinking about my own situation.

I own a 1998 Honda Civic that looks and drives as good as the day I bought it. It gets 34 mpg (better than some bikes I have owned) and for $380.00 I can put a set of tires on it that will last 50,000 miles. I change the oil every 7500 miles and I have driven 165,000 basically trouble free miles. It cost me $40.00 a year to tag and I just carry liability insurance on it.

I can put on my shorts and t-shirt and drive to California tomorrow. If it starts to rain, I don't get wet. If I get cold, I turn on the heater. If I get hot, I turn on the air conditioner. The wind does not beat me up, and I don't need to wear ear plugs. I can talk to someone sitting next to me without an intercom system, and I can take everything I could possibly need with me. At the end of the day, my clothes are not covered with smashed bugs. If an armadillo runs out in front of me on the highway, well too bad for the God's creature.

For the purchase price of the motorcycle, tag and insurance, tires, sprockets and chain sets, farkles and more farkles, and on top of that fuel cost; I can buy a lot of gasoline for my car.

I realize that I don't get to work by lane splitting in horrendous rush hour traffic like some of you do. Parking is not a problem where I live.

After thinking about my question, the truth of the matter for me is that I ride a motorcycle because I WANT TO, and I really, really enjoy it.