• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Tire carcass shapes/profiles?

MZ5

Reaction score
Visit site
In the sportbike realm, one finds tires of various shapes. Some (not many) are quite round, some are quite pointy in the center of the tread, and some are in-between.

Is there much variation in tire shape in the sport touring to on/off-road realm? While the Pirelli Scorpion trail (I think it's called?) Is a minor possibility, I'm basically choosing between the Pilot Road 2 and Bridgestone Battlax BT-023.

I'm curious about how the handling and gearing (quickness of turn-in, revs per mile, etc) of these would compare based on shape.

Thanks.

I believe both tires are good tires. I know that the BT-023 gets around 12,000 miles. I have no knowledge about the Pirelli mileage. Both are good companies that have been around a long time.

Thanks, OCR! The only Pirellis I've ever had were car & pickup tires. Excepting one set from a long time ago, they've been round and smooth. I've liked the Bridgestones, Michelins, and Goodyears I've had, too.

Did some looking just now because I was curious too. I'm not due for a tire change yet but it will be here before I know it. What I'm about to quote is information I have just read. It is not first hand experience.

First off, it seems more often than not the people that have ridden both prefer the PR2's. It seems that a majority of the riders feel very comfortable with them in wet conditions and say they give you a lot of confindence in corner and braking. Say they grip like no other. People quoted different mileage on tires but saw anything from 8K to 11K.

Nobody had anything bad to say about the BT-023's. The just liked the PR2s better.

All I did was a google search with Pilot Road 2 vs Battlax BT-023. It brought up quite a few forum threads discussions.