• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

The Meaningful Motorcycle

admin

Staff member
Reaction score
Visit site
This article is not a review of motorcycle gear. It contains only two motorcycle pictures. It’s not about what some may consider a motorcycle story, yet for me, it has EVERYTHING to do with how motorcycles bind us. It embodies the quote I’ve followed for most of my adult life, “Tomorrow is promised to no one.” And no, these two stories are not about someone dying in a motorcycle accident. As tragic as those stories are, non riders tell them to assure those of us who do ride, that they are smart enough to NOT ride motorcycles.

Paulette​

In my past life, I worked as a suit for a broking company. It was an 8-5 Monday through Friday job in the Financial District of San Francisco, suit, tie, briefcase – the whole bit. No working from home in those days either. One of the women I worked with, a senior manager; Paulette was a humorous gal and we liked going to lunch together and grabbing coffee before work. It was a few years before she asked “Hey do you ride a motorcycle? The other day I saw you coming up the elevator in an Aerostich suit. Do you ride to work every day?” My reply was, “Yep with parking so bad here in SF along with traffic, riding my bike to work makes my commute and parking easy, why?” “Wow, I ride a Harley Sportster” to which I replied, “Oh I’m sorry!” “Oh, so you’re one of those rice rocket riders huh!?” On and on our bantering went the rest of the day after we discovered a common bond. We often talked about going on rides, but since I had a new child and was furthering my career, our weekend rides just never happened.