• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Question Chain and Sprocket Replacement

mzflorida

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I need to replace my chain. I have decided to replace the front and rear sprocket as well. I have never done this before and will be following the shop manual. However, I am a visual learner. I am wondering if anyone has come across a video that follows the essence of the steps outlined in the shop manual. If so, could you share the link please?

I don’t know how may miles your bike has but I first changed the rear sprocket at around 50 or 60,000 miles. Held up against a new sprocket, I could hardly detect any wear on the old one.

One thing I question is Honda’s torque spec for the rear sprocket nuts. Honda’s spec seems way too high for the bolt size and for the application. If I remember right they spec’d it even higher than the rear axle nut. I took it upon myself to use a lower torque for the sprocket nuts based on the bolt size.

I can’t stand to watch most amateur videos, as you might know, so I can’t be of help there.

I need to replace my chain. I have decided to replace the front and rear sprocket as well. I have never done this before and will be following the shop manual. However, I am a visual learner. I am wondering if anyone has come across a video that follows the essence of the steps outlined in the shop manual. If so, could you share the link please?
When are you planning to do this?

I don’t know how may miles your bike has but I first changed the rear sprocket at around 50 or 60,000 miles. Held up against a new sprocket, I could hardly detect any wear on the old one.