• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

8000 mile valve check

I am new to the sport, but my vintage biker friends tell me one sure sign the valves are off is the spark plugs are black instead of a light brown colour or one of the pipe is more BLUE than the other(S)

Pipe comparison will not be possible with the NC since the exhausts join inside the cylinder head and exit to one header pipe.

I expect valve adjustments to be a rare concern/event with the NC700 engine.

Could someone explain why this nut and bolt valve adjustment system is still used when shims seem to be so much more reliable, maintenance-free and exact, or also hydraulic tappets ?

Could someone explain why this nut and bolt valve adjustment system is still used when shims seem to be so much more reliable, maintenance-free and exact, or also hydraulic tappets ?

I like the old style of screw and locknut, Its a simple and fast method, shims are a PITA, I could see shims for a High Performance bike but not a utility bike. Hydraulic will not work with overhead cams me thinks.

My very basic XR250 has shims, and i was told by the Honda mechanic not to think about it before 30000 km at least. And the DOHC CBX 750 had hydraulic. I think adjusting with this screw system is very error-prone, especially if there already is some wear, because then when you tighten, the gap changes.