• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Recommended Garage Equipment & Tools for Bikes

t3hGone

Reaction score
Visit site
Hey all,

Since I'm a newbie with my first bike, I would like for a discussion regarding the best recommended tools for working on/with bikes, homemade or purchased. Some examples could be front wheel chocks, rear wheel stands, bike jacks, truck mounting, some odd tools that are only used on bikes, things of that nature.

Hey all,

Since I'm a newbie with my first bike, I would like for a discussion regarding the best recommended tools for working on/with bikes, homemade or purchased. Some examples could be front wheel chocks, rear wheel stands, bike jacks, truck mounting, some odd tools that are only used on bikes, things of that nature.

I don't have one yet, but I have two friends that do.
Motorcycle Lift Table, 1000 Lb. Capacity
They go on sale sometimes for around $300.00+/-

image_21230 harbor freight.jpg

Basic sockets, wrenches, JIS screwdrivers, and torque wrenches are a must. Then, I would just study the maintenance schedule in advance and obtain the needed tools at that time. For example, anticipating a tire change will have you shopping for tire tools, or for a chain replacement you'll be needing a chain breakers/riveter. I just take it one step at a time on the specialty stuff.

Greg

Something you don't think about until you need more of it is light. Dependins on how well your shop it is lit. Don't forget these.

TQS1000QD.jpg

A 17mm hex (Allen) wrench for pulling the front wheel. Why they couldn't use a regular plain-Jane bolt is a mystery to me.

I don't have one yet, but I have two friends that do.