• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

How to lift with my bike with a HF motorcycle lift.

dog

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
Hi everyone,

First post by a total newbie here: new to motorcycles, new to the NC700 forum, etc.... Got my NC700XD in mid-January. NOT new to doing my own maintenance, mods, and repairs on various vehicles.

ANYWAY, bought this from Harbor Freight and assembled it over the weekend:

MC_lift.jpg

It was only after doing so that I decided to take a look to see where the lift points would be. The only one that looked clearly safe is where the center stand is mounted. I guess I could lift only at that point if I had to using straps to balance the thing, but was wondering how you guys would handle it?

Congrats on your purchase and welcome to the forum!
In almost 40 years of riding I have never used a lift, but I saw no responses and thought I'd give my $.02 worth. It seems like the lift you bought is not really designed for our bike. I could be wrong, it's happened once I think (could be wrong!:) lol). Your lift looks to be better suited for a typical motorcycle frame. ie: One having the 2 lower tubes that straddle, and actually hang below, the motor. Is there a particular reason you want to use a lift to get the bike off the ground? It seems a centerstand or pitbull type would be easier and work for most situations.

Last edited:
+1 those lifts are designed for full framed bikes ( most harleys, vtxs are a couple). Ours uses the frame as a stressed member. If you want to use that lift you are going to have to design some sort of bracket to fit the bike (so your lifting on the frame not the engine or exhaust). That being said why do you need the entire bike in the air? A centerstand will get the rear off the ground. Place a sandbag on the passenger seat and the front is off the ground