• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Valve Check/Adjustment Question

mzflorida

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I hope this is not a stupid question. I cannot locate my feeler gauges and I am going to check my valves this weekend so I need to buy a set. I've never done that on this bike before. Is there a type of gauge that is better than the other for this job on the NC? For example, wire, flat, offset, etc. I plan on dropping the radiator to make it easier. Any other tips or advice? I just don't want to have to run back out as I am doing this in my buddy's garage.

My preference for the NC engine valve clearance check is the bent feeler gauge set. I have both flat and bent, but I seem to access the space better with the bent ones on the NC. It’s a matter of personal preference.

F46398A5-AAD1-45B2-B523-A977C2051A2D.jpeg

I also prefer the bent feeler gauges. I've checked a few times, and bought a bent set for the second time I checked them on the bike. Straight-flat will work fine, but the gauges themselves will be flexed noticeably. Truth be told, a straight set I bend myself would probably be my most-preferred strategy.

Also: Prepare for the valves to need little (or no) adjustment.
(-:

I also prefer the bent feeler gauges. I've checked a few times, and bought a bent set for the second time I checked them on the bike. Straight-flat will work fine, but the gauges themselves will be flexed noticeably. Truth be told, a straight set I bend myself would probably be my most-preferred strategy.

Also: Prepare for the valves to need little (or no) adjustment.
(-: