• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

The Neglected Truth About Snell M2020

admin

Staff member
Reaction score
Visit site
Ryan F9 has become a YouTube sensation thanks to his wit, no-nonsense on-camera presence, and entertaining video montages. I appreciate the artistry and dialogue in his videos but take issue with inaccuracies in some of them.

Contrary to how he presents himself, Ryan isn’t a helmet safety expert. Very few people are. Specifically, I notice that he doesn’t understand the 65-year old Snell Memorial Foundation’s methods and testing standards. Neither has Ryan fully grasped the intricacies of ECE 22.05 or the new 22.06 standard.

I’ve chosen not to explore the FIM standard in much detail in this piece to avoid further confusion.

Full Disclosure: I’m Not An Expert Either​

I admit that I still don’t understand everything about the standards the way true industry experts do, but I’m familiar enough with them to call out some of the misinformation being spread around the world wide web. That is my goal in writing this article.

This is heavy, technical stuff to digest, and while figuratively putting pen to paper I spoke directly to the experts at The Snell Memorial Foundation before publishing (and also spent weeks pouring over the ECE and Snell standards).

Unfortunately, I didn’t have any ECE experts to consult with—but I’m keen to connect with some.

I also spoke with representatives from MIPS to get their input too. Read on for more.

The Issue at Hand: How Meaningful is Snell M2020?​

On July 26, 2021, I watched a YouTube video from Ryan Kluftinger, (aka Ryan F9 of FortNine fame) and read a subsequent article written by Bradley Brownell which echoed the video about the Snell M2020 homologation.