• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Still learning and lucky

Olythom

Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
For the first time since I started riding again, I had a fright this morning.... Riding to work in the right hand lane of a 4 lane / 40mph road. As I came upon a slow-moving semi in my lane, I swung out to take the next lane over. As soon as I pulled into that empty lane, there was an 8 foot 4x4 fencepost laying across my lane. Couldn't veer right because of the truck. Couldn't veer left because of oncoming traffic. Old instincts kicked in and I rolled the throttle on and pulled up on the bars to 'hop' over the obstacle. Right.... Like little old me is going to lift the front end of this bike.... I guess I just couldn't override the old Trials instincts.

Anyway, Skookum just rolled over the post with a loud "thump, thump" and kept right on going. Bless her heart.

Anyway... I turned around and went back to the scene and ran into a lull in traffic to pull the darn thing out of the road (apparently no one else was intent on doing that - marks on the road and wood chips made it appear that it had been hit several times before I hit it).

Obviously... my biggest mistakes were getting too close to the truck before the lane change and not visually clearing the lane before pulling alongside the truck. Another lesson learned. It could have been worse. I was fortunate.
Be safe out there.
>T