• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Security chain through center stand?

2wheeledJim

Reaction score
Visit site
I'm assessing what length of security chain I need to buy. I am aware that if you go through a wheel, the wheel can be removed.
So where else can you thread a security chain through on the main body of the NC700X?
I can see a gap in front of the rear spring, but it's just a bit dirty to access daily and impossible to do without brushing against the chain.

So I thought I'd just confirm that the center stand is even easier than a wheel to remove? I have no experience installing a center stand myself, although youtube seems to suggest a hammer is required to push in the pivot bolt. So perhaps removing a center stand isn't that easy? On the other hand, is it hollow and easy to bolt crop? Cheers for advice!

Edit: I can also thread a D lock around the exhaust near the left foot peg so that could be the chain anchor point. Would a thief ever go through the upper exhaust pipe??

Last edited:
In years past I went thru rear wheel and up over seat, locking the two together and making rear wheel removal impossible.

They could still pick it up though.

In the USA the NC is not very popular and not a target for thieves. I can't recall a thread discussing security.

Is it possible to thread the chain through the triangle of frame above the engine?

Yeah, unfortunately motorcycle theft in London these days isn't a pretty picture. The fact the model isn't sexy and is relatively heavy helps. But it's not unheard of that anything with wheels and an engine gets stolen.