• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

New rider in Saskatchewan, and a couple questions.

Wildfire

Reaction score
Visit site
Hi Guys.

My name is Eric, I'm a Wildland Firefighter from Saskatchewan and had been tooling around with getting a bike for quite a while. 3 weeks ago I went and purchased a 2012 NC700XA that I had been watching on Kijiji. Getting a learners licence took a bit longer than I was hoping but I finished jumping through the hoops last Thursday.

Friday it was 1˚ and sunny so I took it the 100 km to the city to visit some friends for the weekend. I froze my arse off, but somehow still had a smile on my face when I got to town. Saturday and Sunday were a bit warmer and I got a few short rides in around town I really liked the bike in the urban environment. For the ride back home yesterday (Monday) I was dressed more appropriately for the weather with the addition of snowmobile bibs and some cheap bar-mits.

The ride home started OK but I hit some freezing fog and mist after about 20 minutes. By the time I got home my legs, arms chest and helmet were coated in ice. I don't plan on riding in those conditions again but I obviously wasn't getting much protection from the elements with the stock windshield in the high position.

I probably won't ride again until spring but am planning on making some additions and modifications over the winter.
On the list are:
Better windshield (MadStad, or National Cycle Vstream, other?)
Heated grips (Oxford Heaterz Premium)
Hand guards
Radiator guard
Auxiliary Lights
Some sort of rack to carry a couple dry bags and a unicycle.