• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Impulse Buy?

Lsdpoet

Reaction score
Visit site
Morning...just put deposit on 2016 NC700X dct...traded my vstrom650...dealer is in another state and so I haven't seen the bike in person...reputable dealer so I'm not concerned about bike, but worried because I've been riding for over 50 years but neveran Automatic. Did I act impulsively? Is there a long learning curve in the dct? Will I fall on my face the first timeI hunt for the clutch or shifter peg?
Comments and/or suggestions please.

I also was anxious the first time I rode a demo 750DCT. I had never owned any vehicle with a DCT box let alone a motorcycle. I took off into the mountains initially on my favoured backroads, and after an initial few episodes of my left hand seeking a clutch, I soon got used to it. Within an hour or so I was very comfortable with the system. I knew then that I would own one at some point. When I did eventually purchase, it was an X-Adv which also had its back brake on the left handlebar.

It does take some time though to get the very best out of the system, and act instinctively as one would do with a standard gearbox. I use a combination of manual changes and Auto, but mostly use the manual change buttons when riding briskly on twisty backroads. At other times on big roads and Motorways and the like I am happy to relax and let it do its own thing. It is now so instinctive to me that when I swap to another bike I occasionally seek the change buttons early in the ride.

Last edited by a moderator: