Need Help Fork upgrade

Wedders

Reaction score
I have searched the forum for answers but only get mixed messages. So I thought I would ask directly, in your opinion what is the best fork upgrade on a budget. I am a pretty competent amateur mechanic so looking to do the job myself. I have trawled the interweb and come up with a couple of options.
1. progressive springs and new oil
2. A fork upgrade kit
3. New cartridges.
4. New compatible forks
I am leaning towards a fork upgrade kit but which one?
I am on a budget as I’ve already spent thousand on my Ducati, and don’t want to do it again that’s got Ohlins.
BTW it’s a NC750X DCT 2016
Any help greatly received.

670cc

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Mods
Site Supporter
Reaction score
1) The stock Honda fork springs are already progressive spings. I’ve seen advertisement for “upgrading” to progressive spings, but that makes no sense since the spring are already a progressive rate. Changing springs alone isn’t going to help the forks much, unless you need a spring rate change because your weight is outside the average range Honda builds the bike for.

The most popular fork upgrades seen on the forum seem to be Racetech Gold Valve Emulators, or the Cogent fork upgrade. Both attempt to accomplish about the same thing, but go about it in a slightly different way.

SlimDude

Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Cogent also offers a combination of their DDC valves plus a new set of non-progressive springs, which they claim perform better that the stock progressive springs. They will supply based on your weight. Another additional option with the Cogent upgrade is to install CB900 fork caps with preload adjustment. You can pick them up on Amazon and eBay for cheap.

Wedders

Reaction score