Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Should I change my tires?

Bike: NC700X

Should I change my tires?

Sort of a newbie here... I bought my bike some 2500-3000 miles ago, and the former owner said he'd changed the less than 1000 milea before that. Should be of note that I live in a very hot country (with lots of sand/dust), riding 100% on road.

Reason I ask is because everytime I brake even remotely sudden, I get the sliding feeling I'm about to lose traction on my front tire. In addition, this is how I fell two recently - by panic braking due to a guy in front suddenly changing lanes (I fell at 40 mph, and my bike hit his rear whell when sliding).

This is causing me to lose confidence in my bike mostly due to not being able to rely on my front braking and front tire.

Pictures (first 3 are rear, last 3 are front tire):

Imgur: The magic of the Internet

The tires are the same model as the Metzler stock tires.
    Last edited by VersusAllOdds; 5th May 2019 at 08:09.

Bike: X-Adventure, Suzuki VStrom 1000ABS, 1989 Honda Dominator, CRF250L
    Given your post above the answer is easy. Change the tyres and put on a good set. That way there is no longer doubt in your mind. Don't forget to put on a few miles before your first agressive braking though. I would not like the appearance of the tyres You have on either. That looks like old rubber to me.
    It's never too late to have a happy childhood.

Senior Member Should I change my tires? New Commuter700's Avatar
    That tire is dry rotted my friend. The previous owner may have only put that tire on 1000 miles before but the tire is at least 4 years old. You MUST change tires every 5 years, especially in a hot climate because they dry out and that reduces traction.

https://tinkergr.wixsite.com/website

Super Moderator Should I change my tires? 670cc's Avatar
    Bike: NC700X, GL1800, KLX140G, CRF250L Rally, Ruckus 50