• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

rear tire alignment

JimbosToys

Reaction score
Visit site
NC700X newbie here. 2012 NC700X now with 18k miles. No manuals yet.
Noticed a .200" difference in chain tensioning adjustment bolt extension on rear of swingarm! My dirt bike days says that's awful. Looking at the slot in the swingarm confirms it's real.
Being new to the bike (900 miles) I don't know yet how it's supposed to feel.
I am not a laser alignment tool kinda buyer, so can't I just adjust the old school way? But - bike just back from shop for 2 tire install - shouldn't the tech have caught this? Maybe he did it?!
What sayeth the group? Jim

The old school way works. The difference is too great to ignore and the tech should have aligned it better than that. One thing to check before using the adjusting bolt extension as a guide is to make sure that the cast end caps are properly seated. I have had bikes in my shop where the cap was not properly seated on the end of the rectangular swingarm and this would relate to a difference in the amount of projection. Rather than using bolt extension, I would rather measure from the back end of the flat metal bracket that moves with the axle when you adjust the chain. As long as you are at it, make sure they have the slack right as well.

Most have found the marks on the side of the swing arm to be accurate. Motion Pro sells a $15 tool that is easy to use and verify proper alignment. Don't need a laser, but the technology can be fun to play with.