• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Not sure I like my new Russell

rnizman

Reaction score
Visit site
The NC700 is the second bike I've owned (the first being a CBR250). In both cases, I could only ride for 30-45 minutes before my back-side began to become very uncomfortable. I tried an after market seat on the CBR with no improvement (the brand escapes me at the moment). I've been riding the NC for 3 years now and finally decided to do something about it. This time, I wasn't going to mess around. From what I read and researched, the Russell Day Long seat seemed to be the way to go. So I sent in my seat at the beginning of June and just received it back last week. And I don't think I like it.

As far as riding goes, I can see why the RDL has a reputation for being very comfortable. Where my previous stock seat put pressure on my tail and inside legs, the RDL distributes weight on the back of the thighs with the seat spreading out to the sides in a shape I've seen many folks call "wings." It's these wings that I have a problem with particularly when backing up the bike. In order to get around the wings and stand up, I have to slide all the way forward which places my man parts up against the frunk. I don't have any issue touching the ground, but I'm getting a ball buster everytime I try and back up the bike. Once I'm on my way, the seat seems fine although coming to stops isn't as easy as simply kicking out a leg or two. I fear having to do a power stop and needing to suddenly plant both legs on the ground as this would probably result in a very painful sensation between my legs. Up to now, I rode my bike every chance I could get. Now I dread using it for a quick trip to the store as I don't feel like dealing with the hassle.

My questions:
1. Anyone else has this experience? Suggestions?