• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Loudness when gears are shifting

Michaelp

Reaction score
Visit site
I am new to riding a 2105 NC700X DCT. Only has 400 miles. I have riden a cruiser for the past 9years. I don’t know what to expect in terms of hearing the gears change. I can hear it every time it shifts. Didn’t expect it to,sound like that. I just need to know what is normal. Any help here?

Thanks,

Michael

Hey Michael. What you are hearing is probably normal. I also have a 2015 DCT. When I wear my full-face helmet, I hardly notice the clutch baskets moving or the actual gear changes. If I am not wearing that helmet, the shifts do seem sort of loud. But... It is perfectly normal in the DCT. Enjoy your new bike. I have put over 20,000 miles on mine and it has been a joy.
>Thom

The bottom three gears are quite audible on my 2017 DCT especially when the motor is cold. They remain audible when fully warmed up but not as much so. I believe that oil viscosity can affect this aspect, but mostly it doesn't bother me.

Ear plugs are the answer.............seriously. There are dozens of threads on engine and trans and clutch noise on the NC most if not all turn out to be normal. But ear plugs are smart choice for many reasons ........one being your long term hearing loss and the two comforts ones mind on the mechanical noises.

Engine noise discussion one of many :

https://www.nc700-forum.com/forum/n...r-sounds-way-loud.html?highlight=Engine+noise

Trans noise discussion one of many:

https://www.nc700-forum.com/forum/n...ansmission-clunky.html?highlight=Engine+noise

Last edited:
Thanks for the assurances. I do appreciate it. On the earplugs- I loved wearing them on my old cruiser - that thing was LOUD. THE NC700 is MUCH quieter. But I may use them again for peace of mind. Great suggestion.