• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Oil change, 2016 DCT. Rotella OK?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ttttrigg3r

Reaction score
Visit site
I'm not a beginner when it comes to changing oil on motorcycles, but I've never had an automatic one before. From what I've read so far, the 2016 700x DCT has a second filter that also needs to be replaced. Is the oil requirement the same for the manual and DCT version of the 700x? I've ran Rotella T6 (Syn. blue bottle) on my other Hondas just fine. Would it be ok to run the Rotella on my 2016 NC700X DCT? I don't know how the DCT works or if it has some special oil requirement.

Edit: Rephrasing my question. Has anyone with the automatic DCT version been running Rotella T6, and how has your bike beeN?

Last edited:
The oil requirements are specified in your owner's manual. Do you have an owner's manual for the bike? The oil recommended by Honda is the same for either NC700X transmission. You are correct that the DCT has a second oil filter not present on the manual transmission model.

We do not make oil brand recommendations on the forum, as it instantly turns into the dreadful "oil thread." You would need to check the Rotella T6 bottle or spec sheet to see if it meets Honda's recommendations.

Rotella T5, 10W-30 is the correct viscosity and gives smoother shifting than the T6 (or any other oil I've used). I'm sure the engine will run fine with a 5w-40 weight oil, but Honda lists 10W-30 or 10W-40 in the shop manual.