• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

TAT or CDT riders?

Big Daddy

Reaction score
Visit site
Hello all, I’m new to this forum but certainly not new to motorcycling and our trusty steed NC700. I’ve been riding for 50 years and have never been without a motorcycle since the age of 6. Yes, I’m 56 years old now.

Hey, my question is; has anyone here ridden their NC700/750 across the Trans America Trail and/or The Great Continental Divide Trail?

I’m planning on ridding the CDT from New Mexico to Canada. Was hoping someone here could offer advice and mods (if any) they’ve done to their bike. Any information would be much appreciated. Thanks!

The portions of the TAT near me in Oklahoma would be no problem for a stock NC700. Around here it is basically rough gravel roads, some with washed out and badly rutted places.

However, I understand further west it gets tougher. Sand, mud, steep rocky trails.
There have been threads on here by people who have done some of it.

At a minimum you would want skid plate, crash bars, handguards, and better tires.
And good enough physical condition to pick it up numerous times.

Last edited:
My biggest concerns would be the alloy rims in Rocky terrain and the weight. Buy a used xt250 for this. Inexpensiveone that will do the trip and is light enough to pick up or manhandle when needed. Spend some time looking at TAT videos.
VLOG 3 - WE GOT BIKES ? Riding the Trans America Trail ? - YouTube

This is a good video series. They have two 250's and an Africa Twin
Pay attention to that in.the rough going..