Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Thread for technique tips and discussion.

Bike: Drz 400; nc700x dct

Thread for technique tips and discussion.

FezUSA asked some questions about video.

Here are my basics. I am a beginner.

My YouTube channel is under Oklahoma Hank.

1. Music
    I use bensound music, most of which is free if you give credit.
    I put a credit in the YouTube description and another in the video itself.
    Some big users buy an ASCAP or BMI license.
    Some just wing it and hope no one catches them.

2. Length.
    The shorter it is, the more views. No one under 30 will watch a video longer than five minutes.

3. Talking.
    People are wired to like human faces and voices. The more you have the better. I personally don't care if I get a big following and I am not monetizing. So I mostly use titles to communicate and while I do not aggressively hide my face I do not show it if I do not have to.
    https://www.fuelly.com/motorcycle/honda/nc700x_dct_abs/2015/oklahomahank/621000]

Bike: NC700X, WR250R
    It takes real potential for unique and well-presented content to get me to watch any vid of over 2 minutes and I am practically OLD ; }

https://www.flickr.com/photos/greenboy667/albums

Bike: NC700X, WR250R
    Also, I grew up to appreciate and be moved by all kinds of good music, pretty much regardless of style/genre, new or old. I've heard too many lame formulaic "soundtracks" for motorsports and extreme sports vids and broadcast TV for that matter with its interchangeable bombastic nonsense. But I've been lucky enough to see some using music from local budding artists that was credited and done with permission, that fit well and was paced to edit to.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/greenboy667/albums

Bike: 2013 Super Tenere, 2006 Husky 610
    I do commercial video for a living. Content is king. You have about 30 seconds to completely lose someone, 10 seconds to keep them.