Thanks Thanks:  0
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37

Thread: Frunk power outlet

  1. #21
    Senior Member Craigmri's Avatar
    Bike: 2012 Honda NC700X
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Brooksville, FL
    Posts
    259
    You make a good point and this is something I omitted to mention. I am using the Garmin supplied power cord(with cigarette plug in tact. What I connected to the Honda Sub Harness is a waterproof 12V cigarette outlet so I retained the Garmin plug that also houses a fuse. So, the Honda Sub-harness is fused, the cigarette plug is fused and the Garmin cord is fused. I'm fused out the ying-yang! :-)

    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
    Cafeful. Just read in another forum of someone frying their Garmin GPS wiring directly to battery. Forgot the cord suppleid with GPS drops voltage from 12V to 5V. Make sure the voltage is correct by the time it gets to GPS. Could be a costly mistake. That said I bought a motorcyle harness for my Garmin Nuvi 550 with wire long enough to get to battery or fuse block. Would probalby work wiht any Garmin that uses same mini plug for power.
    Craig


  2. #22
    Senior Member Frunk power outlet Jay Fridays's Avatar
    Bike: NC700X (DCT)
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Long Beach, CA. USA
    Posts
    712
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
    If you use the Honda harness is the accessory power off when key off? I like to charge my MP3 when I am off the bike.
    I used the Batterytender attachment straight from the battery. It has an inline fuse. That way I can Charge my gps/phone/laptop/whatever when I'm off the bike...
    Aloha !!!



    2012 - Honda NC700x (dct)
    Spy 5000m 2-way Alarm w/Auto-Start, GPR Thunder Deeptone Exhaust, JMV Tail Kit, Kellerman Micro-rhombus LED Turn Signals, Signal Dynamics Back-off Brake Light Modulator, Path-Blazer Headlight Modulator, Pro Adjustable brake lever - Short, Powerbronze Dark-tint Windshield

  3. #23
    Senior Member Frunk power outlet Jay Fridays's Avatar
    Bike: NC700X (DCT)
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Long Beach, CA. USA
    Posts
    712
    Quote Originally Posted by Fuzzy View Post
    Cafeful. Just read in another forum of someone frying their Garmin GPS wiring directly to battery. Forgot the cord suppleid with GPS drops voltage from 12V to 5V. Make sure the voltage is correct by the time it gets to GPS. Could be a costly mistake. That said I bought a motorcyle harness for my Garmin Nuvi 550 with wire long enough to get to battery or fuse block. Would probalby work wiht any Garmin that uses same mini plug for power.
    Why would a Cig Lighter type power cord change the voltage? If it's meant to be a "car" charger, then you should have no issues.....
    Aloha !!!



    2012 - Honda NC700x (dct)
    Spy 5000m 2-way Alarm w/Auto-Start, GPR Thunder Deeptone Exhaust, JMV Tail Kit, Kellerman Micro-rhombus LED Turn Signals, Signal Dynamics Back-off Brake Light Modulator, Path-Blazer Headlight Modulator, Pro Adjustable brake lever - Short, Powerbronze Dark-tint Windshield

  4. #24
    Senior Member Frunk power outlet
    Frunk power outlet
    DanH's Avatar
    Bike: 2012 NC700X; 2005 GL1800A
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Bothell, WA
    Posts
    757
    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Fridays View Post
    I used the Batterytender attachment straight from the battery. It has an inline fuse. That way I can Charge my gps/phone/laptop/whatever when I'm off the bike...
    I would hesitate to do that for fear of running my battery down though it's probably an irrational fear. I carry a couple of 4000 mAh\2.1 Amp Mophie power supplies for charging when the bike is shut down. They are small, will charge my phone in 25 minutes and and sit in the frunk charging back up while I ride.
    IBA: 64008
    Best Mileage: 80.9 mpg; Worst Mileage: 51.4 mpg; Average Fun: 10/10

    Check out the: Pacific Northwest Riders Group join The Down to Earth Club if you have qualified.
    "I don't care what the weather is, when I can ride I will ride - there plain and simple." - OCR
    Contingit ergo stercore configes tua cursoriam

  5. #25
    Senior Member Frunk power outlet Fuzzy's Avatar
    Bike: NC700XD, Versys X-300
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    South Cumberland Plateau, Tennessee
    Posts
    4,151
    Garmins use 5 volts same as USB. This lets them communicate with a computer and charge from a computer with common USB cord. The 12V power cords they supply have the voltage drop built in. This is true for their cigarete lighter cords and the harness they make for motorcycles. If you make your own cord or use someone else's cord and put full 12V to the Garmin you can kiss it goodbye.
    Apply dog logic to life:
    "Eat Well, Be Loved, Get Petted, Sleep A Lot, and Dream Of A Leash Free World."

    ATG ATT

  6. #26
    Senior Member Craigmri's Avatar
    Bike: 2012 Honda NC700X
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Brooksville, FL
    Posts
    259
    Pretty sure most Garmins require in input voltage of 5vdc. The Garmin plug converts from 12V to 5Vdc.

    Quote Originally Posted by Jay Fridays View Post
    Why would a Cig Lighter type power cord change the voltage? If it's meant to be a "car" charger, then you should have no issues.....
    Craig


  7. #27
    Senior Member Frunk power outlet
    Frunk power outlet
    DanH's Avatar
    Bike: 2012 NC700X; 2005 GL1800A
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Bothell, WA
    Posts
    757
    Quote Originally Posted by Craigmri View Post
    You make a good point and this is something I omitted to mention. I am using the Garmin supplied power cord(with cigarette plug in tact. What I connected to the Honda Sub Harness is a waterproof 12V cigarette outlet so I retained the Garmin plug that also houses a fuse. So, the Honda Sub-harness is fused, the cigarette plug is fused and the Garmin cord is fused. I'm fused out the ying-yang! :-)
    Oh, I see. I was having a hard time imaging that setup but I got it now. How did you waterproof the connection between the Garmin cord and the socket. I am assuming its tucked up under the plastics somewhere and wrapped with electrical tape to keep it connected and dry both.
    IBA: 64008
    Best Mileage: 80.9 mpg; Worst Mileage: 51.4 mpg; Average Fun: 10/10

    Check out the: Pacific Northwest Riders Group join The Down to Earth Club if you have qualified.
    "I don't care what the weather is, when I can ride I will ride - there plain and simple." - OCR
    Contingit ergo stercore configes tua cursoriam

  8. #28
    Senior Member Frunk power outlet
    Frunk power outlet
    DanH's Avatar
    Bike: 2012 NC700X; 2005 GL1800A
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Bothell, WA
    Posts
    757
    Does anyone know if there exists a secondary fuse block system that can be attached to the battery to provide additional, easily coupled connectors for various applications. I bet you could sell something like that.
    IBA: 64008
    Best Mileage: 80.9 mpg; Worst Mileage: 51.4 mpg; Average Fun: 10/10

    Check out the: Pacific Northwest Riders Group join The Down to Earth Club if you have qualified.
    "I don't care what the weather is, when I can ride I will ride - there plain and simple." - OCR
    Contingit ergo stercore configes tua cursoriam

  9. #29
    Senior Member
    Bike: 2012 NC700X, 2002 Vstar1100
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Oakwood Tx
    Posts
    367
    Quote Originally Posted by DanH View Post
    Does anyone know if there exists a secondary fuse block system that can be attached to the battery to provide additional, easily coupled connectors for various applications. I bet you could sell something like that.
    Radio shack or any autoparts store. They sell a generic fuse block. Used one on my VTX, had a stebel horn, stereo, and aux lights on it, and still had three more openings for more accessories. You can get a relay from them also to attach between the battery and fuse block so that all are powered only when the bike is on.

  10. #30
    Senior Member Frunk power outlet Jay Fridays's Avatar
    Bike: NC700X (DCT)
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Long Beach, CA. USA
    Posts
    712
    Quote Originally Posted by Craigmri View Post
    Pretty sure most Garmins require in input voltage of 5vdc. The Garmin plug converts from 12V to 5Vdc.
    THen why doesn't my Garmin melt in my truck's 12v outlet ? or in my Moto's 12v outlet?

    If you are using a car charger supplied by Garmin, you should be able to plug it into any 12v cig lighter outlet. In a car/truck/boat/airplane/submarine/hot-air ballon/supertanker ...

    Aloha !!!



    2012 - Honda NC700x (dct)
    Spy 5000m 2-way Alarm w/Auto-Start, GPR Thunder Deeptone Exhaust, JMV Tail Kit, Kellerman Micro-rhombus LED Turn Signals, Signal Dynamics Back-off Brake Light Modulator, Path-Blazer Headlight Modulator, Pro Adjustable brake lever - Short, Powerbronze Dark-tint Windshield

Similar Threads

  1. 12v Accessory Outlet Relay Bypass Switch
    By Josh H in forum NC700 Technical
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 28th April 2014, 18:40
  2. Accessory Outlet
    By Cyclerosis in forum NC700 Technical
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 23rd September 2013, 12:50
  3. Frunk Challenge!
    By Naked_Duc in forum NC700 General Discussion
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 15th March 2013, 02:50
  4. Backpack for Frunk
    By bonnielover in forum NC700 General Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th February 2013, 11:50
  5. Have you installed a power outlet for your phone/GPS?
    By Terminal G in forum NC700 General Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th January 2013, 22:11

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •