• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Cleaning and Lubing Chain?

belrix

Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
How often and with what should I be cleaning and lubing my chain? I ride almost daily and each trip to work includes 2 miles of gravel roads. My chain is looking pretty dirty.

I am a newbie! Forgive me if this is an obvious question.

Thanks

belrix

There are lots of different chain lubes and saying one is best would be similar to opening up the Synthetic Oil vs Mineral Oil firestorm. One thing is certain - never clean the chain with a power washer!

This is what I as well as many others in here use. I never clean mine (I have a gravel drive 300' long). I use the compression of the can and roll the chain once, let it sit a minute then roll it again with the can and lube blowing off what just got loosened up.

Dupont Teflon Chain-Saver - Compacc

I rarely if ever, clean a chain. I just lube it, and in most cases I have a chain oiler on my bikes. The constant feed from the oiler is sufficient to keep the rollers very clean. The only part that gets dirty therefore is the outside of the plates. Other than keeping the chain together the plates play no part in the movement of the chain on the sprockets. At best I will apply an old disposable rag to the plates occasionally. However I am reluctant to use anything other than oil on an O ring chain. You will get variations of answers to your question. However the above method has been successful for me over many years of chain drive bikes.

One other thing. I would not recommend the use of a stiff brush to clean your chain if you must do it. One or two folks on here have done so to the detriment of their chains, as stiff bristles can damage o rings.