• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Testing for longer rides

Cigar Mike

Elite Member
Reaction score
Visit site
I am planning a two week trip later this spring and being a complete newb to motorcycling camping and touring. I figured we needed to make a trip to try things out. Cathy is on a CB500X and my riding partner for the last 44 years, as well as being my wife. We have been working on our packing for the last week or two and believe we had figured it out. It was time to put it to the test. New Mexico is a bit warmer than Colorado right now so a trip south was in order. Colorado/New Mexico in March means wind but I was trying to time the best conditions. Yeah that will work, not.

First leg would be from Centennial, Colorado to Cochiti Lake campground. I had planned to take the bikes out of Walsenburg west and then south through Taos to Santa Fe. it did not work out that way and when we saw the ice warnings backtracked to Walsenburg and continued down the 25.

First stop on the way.
002.jpg

We stopped for fuel in Walsenburg before we headed west. Once we turned back we just kept going and would not stop again for fuel until Wagon Mound. We did stop however at a rest stop in NM.
006.jpg

We did hit wind from Colorado Springs all the way to Cochiti. It was little problem except for one stretch between Las Vegas and Santa Fe. It was strong and the direction changed every few hundred yards. Other than that the wind was consistent and very easy to maintain 70+ mph. The 700 just ate up the miles (as did the 500) and it was a good thing because it was going to be hard to make the campground before dark.

But make it we did and got camp set up just as light was failing.
206.jpg