• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Have to shift 2-4 times before it goes into gear. Brand new bike.

Jasonrj

Reaction score
plus.google.com
Only 260 miles on this manual 2012 NC700X. Today I was accelerating up to speed like normal and when I tried to shift up to 3rd nothing happened. I lifted up on the lever and it just stayed in 2nd gear. Now I'm noticing in 3rd and higher gears I have to kick the lever up 2 to 4 times before it actually goes into gear. 1st and 2nd work fine every time. Downshifting works fine every time.

Another thing I noticed is normally in 6th gear if you try to shift higher the lever does not go up at all, now about half the time it will go up but doesn't do anything obviously.

I'm a total newbie, what is going on?

Also I don't know if I'm being overly sensitive now or not, but is it normal for the shifting to be fairly loud and clanky? The only other bike I've ever owned (Yamaha TW200) was often like this, but that bike was kind of crap compared to the NC700X. Sometimes it clanks sometimes it doesn't, I don't know if I need to rev/not rev I can't seem to figure that out.

Make sure on your up shifts, that you pull the clutch in till the lever hits the grip. Make sure that your foot comes completely away from the shift lever, if your foot is touching the lever it can not return to the neutral position on the shift drum. This normally can happen on the down shifts also, but normally its the upshifts. Dale

Make sure on your up shifts, that you pull the clutch in till the lever hits the grip. Make sure that your foot comes completely away from the shift lever, if your foot is touching the lever it can not return to the neutral position on the shift drum. This normally can happen on the down shifts also, but normally its the upshifts. Dale