• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

First road trip on the NC

Beemerphile

#1 Elite
Elite Member
Site Supporter
Reaction score
Visit site
I am on my way from Georgia to Watkins Glen, New York to attend a BMW rally on a Honda. I won't be able to post pics until I return next week. Meanwhile, you can follow the progress here...

EDIT: Spot tracking link removed (it was a live link and no longer shows the trip route)

It rained most of the way today. The coal dust mixed with the rain to make the roads slippery. Hwy 421 had some pretty twisty sections as well. Slow and easy. The NC did great. Except for the seat from hell..

Last edited:
Well at least your butt will keep you awake. Ride safe! That Spot is really neat stuff. I'm not that tech savvy so bare with me.
I'm hoping a set of seat pans will show up somewhere so I can send the to RDL.
I'm still sore from my little ride.

Well at least your butt will keep you awake. Ride safe! That Spot is really neat stuff. I'm not that tech savvy so bare with me.
I'm hoping a set of seat pans will show up somewhere so I can send the to RDL.
I'm still sore from my little ride.

Last one to Russell is a rotten egg. This seat is a vinyl crucifix.

It will be at least December before I can send RDL mine.(Don't want to loose the NC unless its cold.)
When winter gets here I'll ride my GL1200 because of the full fairing.

That's a big trip! Best of luck -and comfort, to ya. The stock saddle on the NC worries me. I have a big trip in about 10 days and i'm looking for economical ways to make my arse hurt the least.
I came across a post (on another site) about a "cheapskin" comfy seat add-on. Gonna try my hand at makin' one of these before I shell out serious money on something else.