• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Brake pads: some questions

happy

Site Supporter
Reaction score
www.nc700-forum.com
Now I think it is a bit early to discuss brake pads, but I thought I would park my questions here first. (bear in mind I am a clueless mechanic type of rider).

1. Single disc brake: how long (km) can we expect the brake-pads (front) to last, with mostly spirited riding and braking?
2. What other brake pads can we expect to use instead of the Honda OEM one? (I personally would not recommend Ferrrodo because they eat up the disc like crazy)
3. Disc thickness tolerance (can someone with service manual please comment / advise or upload scanned pages?) Edit: Ignore my stupid and illegal request about scanned pages....

Thanks!

Power is nothing without control ( braking)...
Now, who said that?

Last edited:
I will not upload copyrighted materials, however, the front disc thickness is 4.8 - 5.2 mm. The rear is the same. My most common aftermarket source for pads is Galfer. I believe that Honda have intentionally made the rear brake weak - at least on the non-ABS version that I have. I will be looking for ways to strengthen it. How long pads last is wildly variable. I usually get about 20,000 miles out of a set of fronts and twice that on the rears. Non-linked, non-ABS.

I will not upload copyrighted materials, however, the front disc thickness is 4.8 - 5.2 mm. The rear is the same. My most common aftermarket source for pads is Galfer. I believe that Honda have intentionally made the rear brake weak - at least on the non-ABS version that I have. I will be looking for ways to strengthen it. How long pads last is wildly variable. I usually get about 20,000 miles out of a set of fronts and twice that on the rears. Non-linked, non-ABS.

You clever dude....
:D

Thanks for the info though....