• A few people have been scammed on the site, Only use paypal to pay for items for sale by other members. If they will not use paypal, its likely a scam NEVER SEND E-TRANSFERS OF ANY KIND.

Rear Brake, my opinion why it is weak

2wheels4fun

Reaction score
Visit site
Here is my opinion with some history:
I use to have a 09 ninja 250 which I traded in for my nc700x. On the ninja, I almost always used the front brake with little back brake but when I practice emergency stops sometimes I lock the rear brakes. Once I got use to the nc700x, I started practicing emergency stops with it and notice how really bad the brake was. The rear brake was so bad, I had to use a lot of weight on it when stopped on a hill not to roll backwards. First dealer said it was normal and I just need to get use to it. Didn't believe it. I then noticed there was very little movement for the back brake pedal. I took it to another dealer and he diagnosed it as glazed brakes. This now made sense. I bet most dealers do not check back brake pedal travel when setting up the bike for the customer. So the rear brakes get over heated and glazed when new. To fix this, you could use sand paper on disc and pads or do what I did, be very heavy on the rear brakes every once in a while but don't use it so much as to overheat them. Once I started doing this over the past three months (3000 miles) the brake pedal has more travel and works a lot better. It still not as good as my ninja, but it is a very big difference from what it use to be which was about useless.